finding balance between life’s demands and chasing your dream passionately…

One quick Google search will tell all aspiring writers they must voraciously read and endlessly write day after day to hone their skills and expand their knowledge. That is a fantastic suggestion if you can swing it. That’s what I’ve been trying to do for the last few years, read anything and everything I can get my hands on spread across many a genre while consistently writing on a daily basis even if it is only a few paragraphs. With a full time job, two eleven year old sons, a home and an obsessive compulsion to exercise to the point of sweat each and every day; I’ve spent countless nights hunched over a laptop with it’s screen the only light to see by while the rest of the house enjoys their slumber or read a page or two of Gone With The Wind while preparing dinner.

In short, it is not easy. On the off chance everyone else in the house is off doing their own thing and I sit down to write for an hour or two; I feel selfish and guilty for taking those hours to feed my passion.

So balance is the word that sums it all up. Like a playground teeter-totter, if one side is weighed more than the other something gets jolted out of place and invariably falls off. Much like I did in elementary school, when a boy who shall not be named and twice my size, dropped onto the schoolyard plank opposite me launching my flailing body through the air. It didn’t end well then and I’m finding it doesn’t end well now. Balance. The more things stacked the harder it is. A precarious tightrope, one slip and it can all come crashing down before you can recover.

So why am I writing about this? Why do I need to do a brain dump onto my screen and into my blog on this seemingly pigeonholed subject? Because life and living it successfully to its fullest is all about balance as well. Shake off the things that don’t need to be on the teeter-totter – I know that can be harder than it sounds – and don’t let someone or something with malevolent intentions climb up on and send you rifling off. Prioritize, really prioritize and then prioritize that list again.

That’s what I am doing now. The need to blurt out this stressful dichotomy which rides around inside me mercilessly finally pushed and shoved its way to the top of my priority list. I can say with a smile that it feels good to even aimlessly drop these thoughts into these five paragraphs. No, I am not huddled by laptop light while I say this, but dinner has to be made and the kids are fighting endlessly so an abrupt end must come to this spattering of thought. It would be so much easier to find that balance and maintain that balance if the world would stop pushing and pulling things from that teeter-totter… **Sigh** Someday…

-P

Leave a Reply

