I fear change


   To paraphrase Heraclitus: the only thing that remains the same is change itself.

avoidingchange_929421

I avoid change in my daily routine at all costs; the same breakfast, the same lunch with a small variance at dinner. I would change the dinner to something always the same but that would be… change. I fear change so implicitly that I don’t even carry coins in my pockets. The routine I so heavily lean on for comfort was vetted and tested over time to ensure maximum efficiency and keep me tethered to sanity.

Some of you are shaking your heads, chuckling at my expense; the rest of you are nodding emphatically. This incessantly spinning world introduces so many variables on a daily basis that relying on tent poles crafted from consistency only makes sense. Right? Wrong? It’s up for debate – just not with me. Follow your bliss, embrace change; there is no reason the two have to be synonymous!

unknown

Okay, so maybe this is closer to the truth. Change is the unknown, the scary thing just out of sight, waiting around the next corner to jump out and make you wish you’d thought to wear Depends that day. The truth is change is inevitable, except from a vending machine. We must change as human beings or we’d all still be in diapers, sleeping all day, being fed and cared for by people who love us and protect us. Doesn’t sound so bad, does it? 🙂

Growing is part of living, interacting with the world and the world interacting with us. Not all of it is pretty. Not all of it is kind. But those are the things that change us, make us who we are. Time travel hasn’t been introduced to the general public yet so there is no way of knowing what will happen next. Even if we had a crystal ball – would you really want to know what comes next?

Consulting Crystal Ball for Future of Earth

A man is consulting a crystal ball to foretell the future of planet Earth. Earth image courtesy of NASA http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/

Where am I going with all of this?

I cope with change through the people I create in the worlds I forge and forever seal in time on pages, in chapters, filling books. Characters put through an emotional gamut cannot remain unchanged when they come out on the other side. So how could I expect to do the same?

Change is good. Sure there is bad change. But if you’re looking, eyes wide open and patient, you can avoid the bad for the most part. You’ll grow, prosper, discover and… change. If you never changed you would still be in those diapers – and that would be weird. (I promise I’m not judging.)

I know one day I will put myself out there, step into the darkness without a flashlight, take a leap of faith not fully knowing the ramifications. I could do that today, but given my current overwhelming view on the subject, I know that step would mean… change.

And we all know how I feel about that don’t we?

-P

Leave a Reply

