exposing myself

trenchcoat-flasher-2

There is a certain vulnerability opening to the world something that is so close to your heart. Laid bare, opinions invariably scrutinize as much as they commend. That revealed nerve feels all at a heightened level; a level I didn’t fully appreciate until I put myself out there.

Yes, I exposed myself.

More Than A Memory. When you believe in something so completely, as I do this novel, the choice between keeping it hidden or sharing it with the world became clear no matter how scared I was. The main character in this novel overcame so much; I knew I had to do the same.Or at least try.

I’m not going to lie. I’m scared as Hell. But when I can’t believe in myself, I tirelessly believe in the story. The commas, the quotes, the periods. Somehow they all tie together a tale that lives and breathes. When I wrote More Than A Memory  the characters were real. Their pain was real. Their triumphs were real. Their love was real. In truth, it wrote itself; flowing forth as fast as I could get it down.

feels real

As you know, I pride myself on brevity, being as succinct as possible.

So where am I going with all of this?

Besides the shameless plug for my book that drops on June 20th, I wanted to share the new truth I’ve found. To feel the exhilaration that comes with putting yourself out there you have to put yourself out there. Find something you believe in with all your heart and soul. Breathe it. Drink it. Feel it. When you’re failing to find where you end and that something ends: you’re ready. Then what?

   Share it with the world. I did.

1st Poster Ad Front Cover Image HQ

-P

 

Leave a Reply

